Carpinteria Seal Rookery (SBIPG)

A SBIPG meetup at Carpinteria Seal Rookery and its vicinity last Saturday.  Bob and I were the only ones showed up for this and we had fun making pix and taking a nice walk along this beautiful Carpinteria Bluffs.  Bob used to work for VENOCO, INC and he shared few stories only oil platform workers knew, and that was totally cool and new to me.

Here at the entrance of the Carpinteria Bluffs reminded me of Douglas Preserve (formerly Wilcox Property) in Santa Barbara which would be a great location to do a SBIPG shoot out near future.

.

Venoco Pier

.

Maximus (aka: Bob) framing the shot

.

Carpinteria Seal Watch (CSW) volunteer will show you what to and not to do during the regular business hour. (in this case: Sunrise to Sunset).

.

.

Playing chicken

.

.

Maximus’s story about how to get on and off board the ship was interesting in a very Bruce Wills’ way.

.

A friend of mine once told me that she wanted to reincarnate as a bird so that she could fly around the world, and I wanted to be a cat so that I can sleep around all day long, I told her.

.

I saw it, I read it but I went beyond this point anyway (dragging Maximus with me).  A CSW volunteer came over after about 20 min or so (enough to make shots we wanted) and told us (VERY politely) that it’s either $10,000 fine or else.  Years of my taking pix I know that when I need (want) to get the shots I would go beyond the point where not permitted to go, and if it was a problem someone definitely come and ask you to leave, then I leave without a fight.  I always get the shots I need.  (Last time I was here about 4 weeks ago, no one came to remove me)

.

.

Very manly looking water that day definitely reminded me of Northern California coast line.  I think Southern California coast (beaches) are beautiful in a very feminine way, but Northern California coast line is like a rough dude, very masculine and beautiful.   If anyone wants to make a SBIPG meeting to coast line up north, let me know.  We will make it happen.

.

.

Lovers secret spot.  I’m gonna have to come back here and make out.

.

.

.

. . .

SBIPG: Santa Barbara International Photography Group

Carpinteria Seal Watch They are always looking for volunteers!!

Last visit to Carpinteria Seal Rookery

.

Leave a Reply

