Daily Archives: July 22, 2009

Personal Log, Supplemental

Okay, how am I feeling today? Happy? Not so happy?  I am having bit difficult time shaking it off whatever that is I’m feeling.  Sure everyone has ups and downs but why is that I can’t function well when I feel like that.  It’s almost as if my 5-speed car is in neutral and just can’t shift it into any gears.  I just can’t seem do decide where to go.  I had late breakfast and was surfing the internet,  randomly no specific destinations in mind and I stumbled onto these two artists in Japan.  A photographer; Mai, and an illustrator; Mami.  Evidently they are good friends from their college time, and now work as a professional photographer (Mai) and an illustrator (Mami).  Mai’s work sorta reminds me of how I used to photograph people, very raw and straight forward. (A liver or a kidney at a butcher shop kinda way)  I was VERY happy then.  I also like Mami’s drawings a lot.  Her drawing’s (the line) inner sadness talk to me. (is it only me feel that way about her work?)  Of course not all of her drawings are like that but nevertheless that’s what I feel from her work.  Strangely enough, though, looking at their work made me feel, better? Why is that?  I had to write them a note and thank them for it.  Now I just have to get out there and be productive and be useful.  Maybe, just maybe my work could do something like that to other temporarily lost souls?

© Photo by Mai Tanaka

© Photo by Mai Tanaka

More on Mai Tanaka

. . .

© Illustration by Mami Sakurai

© Illustration by Mami Sakurai

More on Mami Sakurai

. . .